Little treasure from Kanazawa

This little lacquer box was delicately decorated with a crane in silver on a cinnabar red background. Something I found most interesting were a few ivory picks inside. I read later from a website and get to know that these ivory picks called TSUME, meaning nail in Japanese. They are used to play a traditional string instrument Koto.

I discovered this special item from an antique shop in Kanazawa, Japan where I found so many beautiful lacquerware, pottery and traditional handicrafts. Some of them were vintage items and some of them, I guess, were discontinued items from local craft workshops. I just can’t help myself touching each piece of them and appreciating every detail of the craftsmanship that is hardly found today.

DSC01053DSC01047

More about the ivory picks and the string instrument:

http://www.asahi-net.or.jp/~np5y-hruc/kt-play1.html

